Ready for the first race! Le Mans 24 Heures Motos



Rather than the 13.626-kilometre Circuit de La Sarthe, the traditional EWC curtain-raiser takes place on the 4.185-kilometre Bugatti Circuit. The demanding layout comes complete with the famous Le Mans start/finish straight, Dunlop Esses and Ford Chicane, while a twisty infield ensures there’s little respite. Riders also face the prospect of shorter daylight hours and colder temperatures during the night and early morning. Although the inaugural 24 Heures Motos took place in 1978, when Jean-Claude Chemarin and Christian Léon rode a Honda to victory, the ACO staged its first motorbike race in 1912, long before the Bugatti Circuit’s September 1966 inauguration.